PHOTOBOOK REVIEWS, INTERVIEWS AND WRITE-UPS
ALONG WITH THE LATEST PHOTO-EYE NEWS

Social Media

Best Books 2013: Regina Anzenberger


Best Books 2013 Best Books 2013 Regina Anzenberger Best Books picks from artist and curator Regina Anzenberger of AnzenbergerGallery.

By Maanantai
Kehrer Verlag
 

Aside from the simple drawing on the cover that already attracted me to this book, it is so diverse, I can look through it over and over and always discover or read something different. It never gets boring and is always a source of joy and beauty.
By Trent Parke
Steidl

I have been waiting for this book since 2005, when I went to Trent’s first exhibition at the ACP in Sydney. Although it’s in black and white, Trent Parke’s pictures capture the fascinating nature and spirit of one of my favorite places on this earth – Australia.
By Guy Archard 
Bemojake
 

In this book, Guy Archard takes me on a visual journey with his poetic photography, which ranges from portraits to landscapes, through still lifes or just simple colors. I really appreciate how he goes from concrete to completely abstract without trying to mimic painting and staying within the medium of photography.
By Carolyn Drake
Self-Published



While the photography was done by a master of documentary, color, and light, it was the design of this book that made it one of the most special ones of 2013. I have never been a fan of a layout in which a photo spreads from one double page partly over to the next and so on. But in this case it has been done with so much care and precision, it has completely won me over. A perfect design in all respects and details.
By Rafal Milach
Self-Published



It is not only the wonderful shade of blue of the slipcase that really attracts me to this book (plus print edition). For me, this is Rafal Milach’s best photographic project ever. Even before this book was published as a trade edition, it received several prestigious awards.
By Adam Panczuk
Self-Published



If you see this portrait of a man looking out of a hole in the ground, holding a branch of a pine tree in his hand, you will 1) never forget it, and 2) always remember the photographer Adam Panczuk. It is his most striking photograph, which is also printed on the beautiful dark grey linen cover. The branch is also the leitmotif throughout the whole book, which was designed by the award winning Ania Nalecka, the best book designer in Eastern Europe.
By Paul Gaffney
Self-Published



Well, I admit I love woods, landscapes, and wilderness, so this book is just perfect for me. In addition, it’s modest, small, handsome, and beautiful all at the same time, with its colorful slipcase on a simple grey cover and an open bound body.
Anatopees*
by Arnaud Lesage
Editions Gang

An encyclopedia of patterns in landscape in the form of a leporello-style folding book. 30 years of landscape photography, meticulously brought into a stunning order of form, in the tradition of Hilla and Bernd Becher.

*This title is not currently available from photo-eye. Email us to be notified if copies become available.
By Fausto Giaccone
Edizioni Postcart
 

This book is a wonderful visual journey through Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s 100 Years of Solitude and other novels. In every picture, you find yourself in a world full of the myths and spirit of South American literature.
City of Brides*
By Alena Zhandarova
Self-published

Alena Zhandarova’s capacity for fantasy and creativity just seems to be endless – both in photography and in designing this book. For me, this the most unique and personal book of 2013.

*This title is not currently available from photo-eye. Email us to be notified if copies become available.

Regina Anzenberger was born and lives in Vienna, Austria. Artist, curator, founder and director of the photographer’s representation AnzenbergerAgency, Vienna (since 1989) and owner of the AnzenbergerGallery (since 2002), bookshop (since 2011) and director of the ViennaPhotoBookFestival.

Member of the Nominating Committee of the Joop Swart Masterclass and the Prix Pictet. Curator of many international exhibitions and editor of books like 22 Photographers (Edition Stemmle, 1997), Austrian Documentary Photography and Ferdinand Schmutzer – A Photographic Discovery (Photographers International Taiwan 1999 and 2004), east (moser Verlag 2008), west (Kehrer Verlag 2009), Ferdinand Schmutzer - Photographic Works 1894-1928 (moser Verlag 2008).

No comments:

Post a Comment